Part Two in my interview series! Today I interviewed the lovely Ashley from the Blog and Instagram Preppy Miss.

When did you first become interested in fashion?

I have been interested in fashion for as long as I can remember. I have always loved playing dress up and distinguishing myself by my style!

What made you decide to start a blog?

I started my Instagram account (@preppymiss) almost three years ago and saw a lot of other girls my age blogging, so I decided to take the leap! I also liked writing about fashion, lifestyle, and anything else that interested me.

Are you planning on a career in fashion?

I plan on going into some kind of fashion marketing.

If you could choose ONE item to be the essential in a preppy wardrobe, what would it be?

Pearls of any kind! I love my pearl earrings, but a necklace or bracelet can also add the perfect classic touch!

Who are your style inspirations?

Sarah Vickers, Jackie O, Grace Kelly, Audrey Hepburn, Nancy Drew, Ali Macgraw (in Love Story) and so many others! I watch a lot of old movies, so I tend to draw inspiration from them.

Is there a particular clothing brand that you feel drawn to?

I love Lilly Pulitzer for the summer, the lifestyle they sell is so fun! Other than that J Crew has to be my all time favorite.

What outfit would be good for the first day at school?

Anything that makes you feel confident – for me it’s a pretty skirt or chino shorts, a simple oxford or striped shirt, a denim jacket, and a pair of Jack Rogers.

What advice do you give other girls out there looking for their style?

Don’t let anyone define or label your style! It doesn’t have to be preppy, edgy, girly, or hipster – it can be a combination or none at all! That’s the beauty of fashion, you can use it to express yourself and your personality.
