A Day at the Pool

One of my favorite places to go during the summer is the neighborhood pool. It’s a great place to relax – unless kids are playing Marco Polo, in which case put on your earbuds and turn on some Ed Sheeran.

Here’s a list of things that are essential to my pool day!

  1. Wear lots of sunscreen! This one’s a little bit of a no-brainer, but seriously, you don’t want to turn into a raisin. Use Chapstick with a sunblock in it to protect your lips as well.
  2. Put your hair up in a bun or a braid to prevent tangles. I usually go with a braid, but if you’re going to be tanning your back, put it in a bun to prevent weird tan lines.
  3. Bring along something to read – and actually read it. Not just fashion magazines, people. 😛 Summer is a great time to read books that you may not have time for in the regular school year. (I do bring the occasional InStyle magazine….shhhhh.)
  4. Don’t wear jewelry. I’ve lost countless earrings in the pool, so unless it’s from the Dollar Tree, I don’t recommend it.
  5. Sit under an umbrella or a shaded area for at least part of the time. Don’t risk getting heat stroke by your “need” to tan.

I think that’s about it! Enjoy your day at the pool. 🙂

 

