This is a new feature on my blog that I hope you’re going to love! It’s a “Fashion Spotlight” on some of my fellow fashionistas. Today’s spotlight is my friend Tristen. ūüôā
What would you say your style is?
If I had to narrow it down, I would consider myself a “classic prepster”: a mesh of preppy, hipster, and classic feminism.
What are 5 wardrobe staples that you can’t live without?
For warmer weather, I’d definitely have to say‚Ķ
1. green ruffled army jacket from Zara – Both neutral and girly, it’s perfect for those cool nights.
2. dark wash from Hollister – Worn with boots or cuffed as capris, these are a year round staple.
3. strappy taupe sandals from SODA – These unique, neutral sandals can dress up a casual outfit in an instant.
4. navy shorts from Old Navy РIn my book, navy goes with everything…these are a must have.
5. chambray shift dress from Red Camel – This dress is super comfortable & cool, aka, my go to for an “I-look-like-I-tried-but-didn’t” look.
If you had to dress only in clothes from one time period, when would you choose and why? 
Definitely the 1950’s. From the tea-length dresses to gloves and kitten heels, the fifties totally embody the polished feminine look that I adore.
What are your go-to pair of shoes?
Lately, I’ve been grabbing my white, low top Converse sneakers. They can be dressed up or down, and they’re super comfy.
Do you believe name brands should be the focal point of your style? Why?
No. While it’s fun to sport a little whale or polo player on your button up, name brands can be restrictive. I’m all about thrifting clothing dupes from consignment shops and department stores. Sure, splurge on a name brand blouse or pair of boots every once in a while. However, when you choose to wear name brand everything, you close yourself off from a world of unique wardrobe must-haves!

What is one of your favorite outfits for spring?

IMG_8042

 

What brands are you wearing in this outfit?
Jeans: Hollister Jeans Super Skinny Fit (on sale for $25)
Blouse: Old Navy (thrifted for $3)
Cheetah Flats: American Eagle (gifted)
Bracelet: Kiel James Patrick (gifted)
Watch: Daniel Wellington (gifted)
What does this outfit say uniquely about you?
This outfit is one of my personal favorites because of its classy mixed prints. It’s both professional, yet comfy, which is exactly what I look for in a staple outfit. The pearls add my signature touch of class, while the cheetah flats *heart eyes* add a fun flare. This is definitely one of my go-tos when I need to look put together.
What advice do you have for other girls who are searching for their own style?
Your style is just that: yours. Don’t rely on the unknown fashion gods to determine what you wear. It’s all right to dislike the current trend! Someone once told me, “What you wear should enhance your message.” Everyone’s messages will differ, therefore, certain trends won’t work for everyone. Are you a girly girl? Do you like sports and being active? Do you prefer a more sharp, professional environment? Do you adore the boho look? Your clothes and style should enhance the message about who you are and what you like. So portray that message tastefully.
One thought on “Fashion Spotlight: Tristen

Comments are closed.